You don’t have to be a Harry Potter fan to appreciate the hazards of time travel. Here are
some to be aware of:
+ If you create a new user account and then use System Restore to roll back your system configuration to a point before the new account was created, the new user will no longer be able to log on, and you will receive no warning. (The good news is that the new user’s documents will be intact.)
+ System Restore does not uninstall programs, although it does remove executable files and DLLs. To avoid having orphaned program shortcuts and files, make a note of any programs that you installed after the date of the restore point you’re about to roll back to. If you don’t want the program anymore, uninstall it in the normal way before running the restore operation. If you want to continue using the program, reinstall it after the restore is complete.
+ Any changes made to your system configuration using the Windows Recovery Environment are not monitored by System Protection. This can produce unintended consequences if you make major changes to system files and then roll back your system configuration with System Restore.
+ Although you can restore your system to a previous configuration from Safe Mode, you cannot create a new restore point in Safe Mode. As a result, you cannot undo a restore operation that you perform in Safe Mode. If possible, you should always start Windows normally to perform a restore operation.